Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Inauguration of the New Archbishop of Uganda

Sunday 16th December 2012

The Archbishop of York today attended the inauguration of the Rt Rev Stanley Ntagali as the 8th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe, Uganda.

Archbishop Henry Orombi handed over the pastoral staff to Stanley Ntagali who is invested with the authority to lead the Church of Uganda as its new Archbishop. The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu and the Rt Rev. Nicodemus Okille, Dean of the Church of the Province of Uganda were both present at the enthronement.

Bishop Ntagali was consecrated Bishop on 19th December 2004 and has served as the Bishop of Masindi-Kitara Diocese for eight years.

Born in Ndorwa County in Kabale District in 1955, he shifted with his family to Wambabya Parish in Kizirifumbi Sub-county in Hoima District when he was 16 years old. On Christmas Eve 1974, at the age of 19, he accepted Jesus Christ as his personal Lord and Saviour and was born again.

He began working as a teacher in Wambabya Primary School, and later spent two years as a missionary in Karamoja Diocese. He did his theological training at Bishop Tucker Theological College, St. Paul’s Theological College, Limuru, Kenya, and the Oxford Centre for Mission Studies in the UK.

After serving as a missionary in Karamoja Diocese, he served the remainder of his priestly ministry in various capacities in Bunyoro-Kitara Diocese until 2002, when he was appointed Provincial Secretary.

As a Bishop, Bishop Ntagali has represented the Archbishop in international meetings, served as the Chair of the Church House Board, and led the committee that designed guidelines for retiring Bishops.

Bishop Ntagali is married to Beatrice and they have five children.

On 8th January 2012 Archbishop Henry Orombi announced his intention to retire after nine years of service to continue a ministry of preaching, which has been his passion. He said, “I want to devote the rest of my life, while I am still able, to fulfilling this calling full-time.”

Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi has served as the 7th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda. Elected in July 2003, he was installed as Archbishop on 25th January 2004 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe. He has served with distinction for nine years; consecrated 25 new Bishops and launched four new Dioceses.  

The previous Archbishops of the Church of Uganda have been:

1. Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966) 
2. Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974) 
3. Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977. 
4. Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province. 
5. Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995) 
6. Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004) 
7. Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 - 2012) 

Back · Back to top