Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Chris Evans receives honorary degree from York St John University

Tuesday 15th November 2016

Renowned broadcaster and presenter of BBC Radio 2’s Breakfast Show Chris Evans was awarded an honorary degree for his outstanding contribution to broadcasting by York St John University on Tuesday 15 November.

Chris Evans, whose Radio 2 show regularly attracts around 9.5 million listeners a week, has also hosted hugely popular live television programmes including Channel 4’s The Big breakfast, Don’t Forget your Toothbrush and TFI Friday.

At the graduation award ceremony, which took place in the stunning setting of York Minster, Chris joined fellow honorary and champion cyclist Lizzie Deignan alongside hundreds of students as they were awarded degrees by York St John University Chancellor Archbishop Dr John Sentamu and Vice Chancellor Professor Karen Stanton.

Archbishop Sentamu first met Chris Evans when the Archbishop was a guest presenter of Pause for Thought on the Chris Evans Breakfast Show. He also co-presented a live broadcast of the Radio 2 Christmas Show from Bishopthorpe Palace in 2010.

Archbishop Dr John Sentamu said:

“It was my great pleasure to present Chris Evans with an honorary degree as Doctor of Business Administration at York St John University. Chris brings such energy and passion to everything he does and his unique style of warmth and entertainment make him a much-loved personality. I wish him and all our graduates my very best wishes and prayers as they continue to make their mark on the world.

Professor Karen Stanton, Vice Chancellor of York St John University, said:

“Each year, York St John awards honorary degrees to a small number of respected, influential and high-achieving individuals who inspire and motivate our students and graduates to achieve their potential.  In this truly special year in which we celebrate 175 years as an academic institution, we were delighted to honour Chris Evan’s outstanding impact as one of the most creative and inspirational broadcasters of his generation”.




Notes to editors:

  • Chris Evans is one of nine honorary graduates to receive degrees from York St John in 2016, including Brian Deer, Hannah Cockroft, James Martin, Jamie Peacock, Julia Davis, Lizzie Deignan, Lyse Doucet and Manvinder Rattan. More info can be found at     
  • York St John University was founded in 1841 and 2016 marks their 175th anniversary. They achieved University status 10 years ago and were awarded Research Degree Awarding Powers for PhD and doctoral programmes in 2015.
  • The award winning campus and facilities have undergone a £100m transformation over the past 10 years, including new library and IT facilities, student accommodation, biomedical labs, a 57 acre sports park and a new Students’  Union Building.

For further information please contact Amy Lansdown-Nasson, PR & Communications Officer on T: 01904 876466 or E: [email protected] or go to

Back · Back to top