Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Press releases

September 2017

Archbishop of York opens new nursery and Early Years facilities at historic school
Wednesday 6 September 2017
The Archbishop of York has today [Wednesday 6 September] officially opened the Minster School’s newly…

August 2017

Archbishop Sentamu Believes in Birkenhead
Wednesday 23 August 2017
Archbishop Sentamu is joining a weekend of mission called ‘Believe in Birkenhead’ next month, from…

Health Through Peace Conference coming to York
Friday 18 August 2017
An international delegation of academics, health professionals, peace workers and students will convene…

July 2017

A Service of Lament and Thanksgiving for Grenfell Tower Victims
Friday 28 July 2017
Family and friends gathered at a West London church this Thursday for a memorial service to remember…

Joint Statement by The Archbishop of Canterbury and The Archbishop of York
Thursday 27 July 2017
Today is the 50th Anniversary of the Act of Parliament passed in 1967 which decriminalised homosexual…

Messy, Sweaty, Café and Spa - A Church for All!
Monday 17 July 2017
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu is joining in part of a ‘Holiday to Holy Day’ mission week…

Young Leaders Celebrated at the Cooperative Academy, Leeds
Wednesday 12 July 2017

Archbishop Leads Yorkshire Schools Pilgrimage to Taizé
Tuesday 11 July 2017
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu is to lead a group of Year 10 and Year 11 students from Manor…

Acts 435 – Every Donation Makes a Difference
Wednesday 5 July 2017

Dearne Advanced Learning Centre Celebrates Young Leaders
Tuesday 4 July 2017
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu congratulated and awarded 30 Year 7 students with their Young…

Academy Graduates Celebrate at Bishopthorpe Palace
Monday 3 July 2017
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, today welcomed 40 students from the Archbishop Sentamu Academy…

June 2017

Official Opening Ceremony of Bluecoat Academy Primary
Tuesday 27 June 2017
Students, staff and parents at Bluecoat Academy Primary are honoured and delighted to have their school…

Archbishop ordains eleven new Deacons to serve in York Diocese
Friday 23 June 2017

Next Bishop of Sheffield consecrated at York Minster
Thursday 22 June 2017

The Next Bishop of Sodor and Man Consecrated in York Minster
Thursday 22 June 2017

« previous   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   20   30   40   50   60   70   next »