Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Press releases

September 2012

Allied Air Forces Memorial Day marks 70th Anniversary of Famous Wartime Bomber Command Base
Wednesday 5 September 2012
On Sunday 9th September, the bi-annual Allied Air Forces Memorial Day will also celebrate the 70th anniversary…

Archbishop Young Leaders Award ‘Taster Day’ Invitation
Tuesday 4 September 2012
The Archbishop of York has invited Headteachers of North of England schools to Manor Church of England…

August 2012

The Suffragan See of Beverley
Wednesday 29 August 2012
A Statement from the Archbishop of York regarding the appointment of the new Bishop of Beverley follows...

Archbishop Sees Life-Changing WaterAid Action in Uganda
Friday 24 August 2012
The Archbishop of York visited a WaterAid project in Uganda earlier this month. The Archbishop toured…

Back to Church Sunday - To Register by 31 August
Friday 24 August 2012
Only one more week to make your church a back-to-church church...

Invite to Night Prayer with the Archbishop of York
Thursday 23 August 2012
The Archbishop of York John Sentamu is inviting people to join him in saying night prayer after the York…

Historic Act of Christian Hope
Monday 20 August 2012
The Ecumenical Service is a highlight of the Guild and it will take place on Sunday 2 September at 3pm…

“You don’t have to be Bill Gates to be able to help”, says leading Christian charity, Acts 435.
Friday 17 August 2012
An online charity, where 100% of what a donor gives goes to individuals and families struggling financially…

Discipleship in the North of England
Monday 13 August 2012
Are you aged between 18-30 and passionate about making disciples, and seeing the church grow, in the…

Archbishop of York Visits Lancaster Priory
Saturday 11 August 2012
Dr John Sentamu will be coming to Lancaster Priory on 8th September 2012 at 6pm to preside at the Service…

July 2012

Church Weddings Handbook published – growing the Church, numerically and spiritually, through weddings
Monday 30 July 2012
In his preface, the Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, refers to the project as “dynamite” and…

Online Charity Acts 435 in BBC’s Songs of Praise
Monday 30 July 2012
Acts 435, the Archbishop of York’s online giving charity, is to be featured in BBC’s ‘Songs of…

Prom Concert Comes to York on Saturday 22 September
Thursday 26 July 2012
Joining the All Souls Orchestra, their Director Noël Tredinnick will be the 100 strong locally recruited…

The Archbishop of York Visits Westminster College
Thursday 26 July 2012
On Thursday 26th July 2012, the Westminster College will welcome many of its friends and supporters to…

Archbishop Calls For Fairtrade Mark For British Produce
Wednesday 25 July 2012
The Archbishop of York today called for British farmers to be paid a fair wage for their produce, saying…

« previous   1   10   20   30   40   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   70   next »