Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Press releases

August 2011

Archbishop of York pays his respects to the late Sir Paul Reeves
Thursday 18 August 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu today joined the community of the Anglican Cathedral of Holy…

Archbishop's statement on UK riots
Thursday 11 August 2011
“Like everyone else, I am shocked and appalled by the behaviour of individuals this week who simply…

Embracing Yorkshire Day
Monday 1 August 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu today has tweeted his best wishes to all on Yorkshire Day.

July 2011

Back to School Conference - 8 October 2011
Thursday 21 July 2011
Make a date in your diary for the Back to School Conference. This is to be held at 10am-4pm on Saturday…

Archbishop hosts Music Festival at Bishopthorpe Palace
Thursday 14 July 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, is to host a music event to be held at Bishopthorpe Palace on…

Archbishop Sponsors York Fairness Commission
Wednesday 13 July 2011
The Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu will sponsor a new independent advisory body which will examine…

Bishopthorpe Tea Party for Jim’s 90th Birthday
Tuesday 12 July 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu today invited local resident Mr Jim Dunleavy to join him for…

Acts 435 Celebrates Anniversary
Tuesday 12 July 2011
The Archbishop of York’s online charity www.Acts435.org.uk today celebrates the anniversary of its…

Archbishop Sentamu Visits Malton
Monday 11 July 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, will visit Malton on Sunday 17th July. He will be visiting…

Bishopthorpe is ‘Blooming Lovely’
Thursday 7 July 2011
As part of his Year of the Environment celebrations, the Archbishop of York today has invited people…

Awareness Sunday Resources To Mark 10th Anniversary of 9/11 Terrorist Attacks
Tuesday 5 July 2011
An educational campaign for churches to mark the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks in the…

Archbishop Ordains New Deacons
Monday 4 July 2011
Archbishop Sentamu ordained twelve people from the Diocese of York as Deacons on 3 July in York Minster.

Archbishop Sentamu Academy Celebrates First Graduations at Bishopthorpe Palace
Friday 1 July 2011
On Friday 1st July 2011, the first group of students will graduate from the Archbishop Sentamu Academy…

June 2011

Archbishop Calls For Action On UK Poverty
Saturday 25 June 2011
The Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu has called for action to be taken to address UK poverty levels.…

Support for Armed Forces Day
Friday 24 June 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu has encouraged people to show their support for the men and women…

« previous   1   10   20   30   40   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   70   next »