Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Press releases

October 2010

Archbishop's Visit to Hull
Friday 29 October 2010
The Archbishop is spending the day in Hull and Scarborough on his Archdeaconry tour.

Archbishop welcomes new jobs in York with the opening of Waitrose
Thursday 28 October 2010
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu today opened the Waitrose York store, which will provide 170…

Illuminating York lights up York Minster
Tuesday 26 October 2010
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu tonight joined the Arts Council England, the City of York Council,…

Archbishop visits YMCA in West London
Thursday 7 October 2010
Dr. John Sentamu, President of the YMCA spoke to the young people before presenting YMCA volunteers with…

September 2010

Archbishop's Lecture on Prison Reform, Restorative Justice and Community
Tuesday 28 September 2010
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu questioned the deterrent effect of imprisonment, severity of…

York Minster awarded £9.7million Heritage Lottery Fund grant
Monday 27 September 2010
The grant will allow for the continuation of the York Minster Revealed project which includes the restoration…

Archbishop's prayer for Zimbabwe
Sunday 26 September 2010
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu today (Sunday 26 September) called for individuals to join him…

July 2010

Archbishop leads Praise by the Bridge - 10 year celebrations service
Sunday 18 July 2010
Praise by the Bridge enabled churches across the South West of York to come together and invite passers-by…

Archbishop of York launches new national charity to help make a practical difference in local communities.
Monday 12 July 2010
The Archbishop of York tonight launched the Acts 435 charity nationally at Synod.

General Synod Draft Legislation: Women in the Episcopate
Thursday 1 July 2010
The Archbishops of Canterbury and York have submitted the following amendments to the Draft Bishops and…

June 2010

Director for Youth Trust appointed
Friday 25 June 2010
The Archbishop of York Youth Trust announces the appointment of its first Director.

General Synod Draft Legislation: Women in the Episcopate
Monday 21 June 2010
The Archbishops of Canterbury and York have signalled their intention to propose jointly in due course…

Edinburgh 2010 - Closing Celebration
Sunday 6 June 2010
The Archbishop of York issued a reminder about the crucial importance of Christian Witness as he addressed…

May 2010

Archbishop to Ordain Fourteen Candidates
Thursday 27 May 2010
The Archbishop of York will ordain fourteen people to the Priesthood on Sunday 30th May at 10am in York…

Welburn welcomes the Archbishop
Thursday 20 May 2010
The Archbishop of York visited St John the Evangelist Church, Welburn, to celebrate its 150th anniversary.

« previous   1   10   20   30   40   50   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   next »