Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Speeches

June 2008

The Roscoe Lecture: 'Liverpool, a city where religious faith is part of the solution, not the problem.'
Monday 9 June 2008
Speech by The Archbishop Of York, Dr John Sentamu, at St. George's Hall, Liverpool.

The Role Of Religion In Politics
Wednesday 4 June 2008
Speech by The Archbishop Of York, Dr John Sentamu, to the Institute of Jewish Policy Research

April 2008

Service of Thanksgiving for the 60th Anniversary of Leonard Cheshire Disability
Thursday 10 April 2008
The Sermon at St Paul's Cathedral follows...

March 2008

Archbishop's Blasphemy Speech in Lords Debate
Wednesday 5 March 2008

February 2008

Archbishop of York's General Synod Address Reflecting on his Visit to Kenya
Wednesday 13 February 2008

November 2007

A Child by Any Means Necessary is Not a Right
Tuesday 20 November 2007
This is an edited extract from a Speech delivered in the House of Lords during the Second Reading of…

Zimbabwe: What's Next?
Tuesday 20 November 2007
Speech by the Most Revd. & Rt. Hon. Dr. John Sentamu to the All Party Human rights Group and All Party…

October 2007

Guns, Gangs and the Christian Gospel
Thursday 25 October 2007
Speech given by the Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu on opening the Youth for Christ centre in Birmingham...

September 2007

Archbishop of York opens St. Paul's Centre, Blackburn College
Friday 7 September 2007
The Archbishop of York, Dr. John Sentamu, awarded an anti-slavery medallion to the Lord Chancellor Jack…

July 2007

Fear Not, Do Not Be Afraid
Monday 9 July 2007
Archbishop's Presidential Address to General Synod

May 2007

Archbishop tells of his own captivity in repeated call for release of Alan Johnston
Thursday 10 May 2007
The Archbishop of York's address at the London Press Club Awards on 10 May 2007


April 2007

What Makes This Country an Amazing Place
Sunday 22 April 2007
Transcript of the St. George's Day Songs of Praise Interview with the Archbishop of York.

The place of people who profess no religion in society
Thursday 19 April 2007
The Archbishop of York's speech in the House of Lords

March 2007

Archbishop questions government over human trafficking
Monday 26 March 2007
Speaking in the House of Lords, the Archbishop quoted from research from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation…

Archbishop's speech on sexual orientation regulations
Wednesday 21 March 2007
In a speech in the House of Lords during the debate on the Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations…

« previous   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   next »