Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Bishop of Newcastle introduced to House of Lords

Christine Hardman (Picture by Duncan Lomax)

Monday 25th January 2016

The Bishop of Newcastle, the Right Reverend Christine Hardman, becomes the second female bishop of the Church of England to take her seat in the House of Lords when she is introduced on Tuesday 26th January.


She will become one of 26 ‘Lords Spiritual’, a group which includes the Archbishops of Canterbury and York, the Bishops of London, Durham and Winchester, and 21 other Diocesan Bishops.

The bishops’ role is to provide a regional voice in the Lords and to bring a faith-based perspective to the legislative process, rooted in the Christian tradition.

The Bishop of Newcastle will be supported at her Introduction by the Archbishop of York, the Most Reverend John Sentamu, and the Bishop of Southwark (the diocese in which she previously served as Archdeacon), the Right Reverend Christopher Chessun.

During the short ceremony in the House of Lords chamber she will present her Writ of Summons from the Crown and swear the parliamentary Oath of Allegiance before taking her place on the bishops’ benches.

The Right Reverend Christine Hardman said, “Joining the House of Lords is a great privilege and responsibility.  God cares about the world as a whole - not just about the Church. I look forward to engaging and working with the other bishops and with key partners for all that leads to the flourishing of communities. I will make the most of this opportunity to speak on behalf of those whose voices are not always heard, and particularly alongside the Bishop of Durham to speak up for the North East.”

Christine Hardman was Inaugurated as twelfth Bishop of Newcastle on Saturday 12th December 2015 in St Nicholas Cathedral, Newcastle upon Tyne.


 Notes for Editors:

The Bishop of Newcastle is the leader of the Diocese of Newcastle, acting as both the source of teaching authority and a focus for unity in the diocese.

The Diocese of Newcastle is the Church of England from the River Tyne to the Scottish Border, and encompasses the City of Newcastle upon Tyne, the County of Northumberland, North Tyneside and small areas of Cumbria and County Durham. It includes 246 parish churches and 47 Church of England Schools.

The eleventh Bishop of Newcastle, the Right Reverend Martin Wharton, was a member of the House of Lords from 2002 until his retirement in 2014. 

Back · Back to top