Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Press releases

March 2011

Archbishop to visit Liverpool
Wednesday 9 March 2011
The Archbishop of York is to visit the Diocese of Liverpool on Thursday 10th and Friday 11th March.

Archbishop of York Says A Prayer For You on Ash Wednesday
Wednesday 9 March 2011
Following the success of last year's "Say One For Me" event, where local ministers of the church and…

Archbishop to Hold May Day Celebrations for St George
Tuesday 8 March 2011
Writing in the Sun newspaper today, the Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, revealed that he will be…

Archbishop Launches Online Lent Reflections
Monday 7 March 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, today revealed that he would be writing a series of online reflections…

Young people set to "regenerate" the church at national summit
Thursday 3 March 2011
More than 100 young people are preparing to meet with Church of England bishops at a national summit…

Archbishops of Canterbury and York strongly condemn murder of Pakistan Minorities Minister
Wednesday 2 March 2011
The Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York have made the following statement condemning…

Archbishops first to step onto MediaCityUK bridge
Tuesday 1 March 2011
The Archbishops of Canterbury and York will today be the first people to use a striking new £11million…

February 2011

"Fairtrade is not about charity, it is about justice" says Archbishop
Monday 28 February 2011
'Fairtrade Fortnight' runs from 28th February-13th March and the Archbishop of York is calling for people…

Archbishops of Canterbury and York make joint visit to the City of Manchester
Monday 28 February 2011
Manchester is to have a joint mission visit from both the Archbishop of York and the Archbishop of Canterbury…

Archbishop holds Vigil for Claudia Lawrence, Madeleine McCann and All Missing Persons
Sunday 27 February 2011
A candlelit Vigil is to be held in York Minster on Sunday 27th February for all those missing and to…

Archbishop Visit to Selby and Pocklington
Monday 21 February 2011
The Archbishop is to visit Selby on Friday 25 February. He will meet with farmers, some officers of Selby…

Archbishop Raises Concerns Over BBC World Service Cuts
Wednesday 16 February 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, today raised concerns about the effect of cuts to the BBC World…

Archbishop Sentamu Academy - the old and the new
Tuesday 15 February 2011
Dr John Sentamu visited the Archbishop Sentamu Academy in Hull today.

XLS Factor at York Minster
Sunday 13 February 2011
Over 500 young people between the ages of 12 and 18 took over York Minster on the evening of Saturday…

Archbishop's Presidential Address to General Synod
Tuesday 8 February 2011
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, today delivered his presidential address to General Synod on…

« previous   1   10   20   30   40   50   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   next »