Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Press releases

December 2016

Archbishop visits York Hospital
Thursday 15 December 2016
The Most Reverend & Right Honourable Dr. John Sentamu, Archbishop of York visited York Hospital on Thursday…

BBC Radio York Christmas Countdown at Bishopthorpe Palace
Friday 9 December 2016
BBC Radio York presenters Adam Tomlinson and Julia Lewis came to Bishopthorpe Palace this afternoon for…

Archbishop Holgate’s Christmas Service in York Minster
Friday 9 December 2016
Archbishop Holgate’s School, York, is hosting its annual Christmas carol service on Wednesday 14 December…

Step Forward 2017
Monday 5 December 2016
A day to explore God's calling on your life....

November 2016

Agape Love Stories Book Launch
Monday 28 November 2016
The Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu will be at St Michael le Belfrey Church, York on Thursday 1 December…

Archbishop to address special conference on ‘Raising Funds for Christian Charities and Churches’
Monday 21 November 2016
The Archbishop of York is to address a special conference on ‘Raising Funds for Christian Charities…

Celebrating 150 years of Reader Ministry
Saturday 19 November 2016
On Saturday, 19th November 2016 the Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu will be celebrating 150 years…

Celebrations at the University of Cumbria
Friday 18 November 2016
The University of Cumbria has a lot to celebrate next week. In excess of 1,100 students will be receiving…

Chris Evans receives honorary degree from York St John University
Tuesday 15 November 2016
Renowned broadcaster and presenter of BBC Radio 2’s Breakfast Show Chris Evans was awarded an honorary…

Archbishop Encourages Advent For Everyone
Monday 14 November 2016
The Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu is to provide a daily online reflection throughout Advent –…

Traditional Christmas cards are the nation’s favourite festive greeting
Thursday 10 November 2016
Despite the popularity of smartphones, traditional handwritten Christmas cards top social media messages…

A special year for York St John University to honour inspirational figures
Thursday 10 November 2016
York St John University students will be graduating in the stunning setting of York Minster this November…

Archbishop visits 1st UK Division at Imphal Barracks in York
Tuesday 8 November 2016
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu learnt about the army’s role in defence engagement around the…

Archbishop of York announces rejuvenated Holy Trinity Church will become a Minster in 2017
Monday 7 November 2016
The Archbishop of York today announced Hull’s magnificent Holy Trinity Church would be re-dedicated…

October 2016

Sports Ministry Day at Bishopthorpe
Monday 31 October 2016
The Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu and the Bishops’ Sports Ambassador, the Rt Revd Tony Porter…

« previous   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   20   30   40   50   60   70   next »