Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content
 

Speeches

March 2007

Fully Elected House of Lords not in the Interests of Freedom
Tuesday 13 March 2007
The Archbishop of York speaks against an all-elected House of Lords in a debate on Lords reform

February 2007

The Church as a Model for Justice
Friday 23 February 2007
Archbishop's Address at Churches Regional Commission, KFC Stadium Hull

January 2007

Archbishop's lecture at Oxford Brookes University calls for global fight against debt, child poverty and racism
Wednesday 31 January 2007
The Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu, today called for a renewed effort by the Government to combat…

The 20th Martin Luther King Jnr Memorial Lecture
Saturday 20 January 2007
The Archbishop delivers the 20th Martin Luther King Jnr Memorial Lecture. The full speech follows.

November 2006

40 year celebration address - The Christian International Peace Service
Thursday 30 November 2006
Address to the 40th Anniversary Gala Dinner Celebration of the Christian International Peace Service…

Respect For Every Person
Friday 10 November 2006
Archbishop's Address to the Readers of the Diocese of Newcastle

October 2006

Maiden Speech in the House of Lords
Monday 23 October 2006

Opening of David Young Academy Service
Wednesday 18 October 2006
Text: Isaiah 55: 8-13

September 2006

Uncovering The Purpose of God
Wednesday 13 September 2006
The Archbishop of York Delivers The Ebor Lecture

July 2006

Epieikes and Epieikeia: More than justice
Monday 10 July 2006
Presidential address by the Archbishop of York to the General Synod

« previous   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9