The Diocese of York in the Church of England

One key aspect of the ministry of the Archbishop of York is as the Diocesan Bishop of the Diocese of York, geographically one of the largest in the Church of England with 589 churches and 127 schools organised into 443 parishes to the east of the A1 and from the Humber to the Tees.

The Church of England is arranged geographically into 42 areas called dioceses, between them covering every part of England. Each diocese is under the care of a diocesan bishop, who works closely with the Suffragan Bishops, the Dean of the Cathedral, Archdeacons, Area & Lay Deans, the Diocesan Office and the Diocesan Registry.

Within the Diocese of York, the parishes are grouped into 3 Archdeaconries (Cleveland, East Riding and York) and the episcopal oversight is shared with the bishops of Whitby, Hull and Selby. A fourth suffragan, the Bishop of Beverley, provides episcopal oversight across the whole of the Province, at the request of the diocesan bishops, to those parishes who have passed resolutions in accordance with the House of Bishops’ Declaration on the Ministry of Bishops and Priests.

As Diocesan Bishop, Archbishop Stephen is responsible for the care and encouragement of the clergy and people of the Diocese and oversees the work of those tasked with the smooth running of the Diocese. He is involved with confirmations in parish churches, appointment of clergy, and the ordinations of deacons and priests but is principally leader in Mission for the diocese of York. 

Diocese of York

Living Christ's Story

Drawn map of the Diocese of York