Bishops to ordain eight new priests to serve in the Diocese of York


Eight deacons will be ordained priest by the bishops of the Diocese of York over the weekend 3rd - 4th June 2023, each woman or man in the parish where they serve as Curate.

As a priest each will be able to carry out the full range of sacraments amongst the community and congregation, including presiding at Holy Communion.

Details of the ordination services can be found below. Biographies of the candidates can be viewed here on the Diocese of York website. 

The Bishop of Selby, the Rt Revd Dr John Thomson, will ordain:

The Revd Alison Hutchinson at St Mary, West Lutton, at 6.00pm on Saturday 3rd June.

The Revd James Congreve-Horn at St Michael-le-Belfrey, York, at 6.00pm on Sunday 4th June.

The Bishop of Whitby, the Rt Revd Paul Ferguson, will ordain:

The Revd Richard Grant and the Revd Dawn Ward at St Mary's, Thirsk, at 10.00am on Sunday 4th June.

The Bishop of Hull, the Rt Revd Dr Eleanor Sanderson, will ordain:

The Revd Steve Cox at All Saints, Kilham, at 6.00pm on Saturday 3rd June

The Revd Jonny Guy, the Revd Shelly Jones and the Revd Jenny Rankin at Hull Minster at 3.00pm on Sunday 4th June.

The Bishop of Hull said, “It has been a deep privilege to journey with Steve, Shelly, Jonny, and Jenny since arriving as Bishop of Hull last year. The commitment and courage they each show in stepping out in Christ and living in obedience to God’s call is a great celebration for our church. I give thanks to God for them and the joy of their ordinations.”

2 min read